You are currently viewing Special Committee on Child Rights

Special Committee on Child Rights

  • Post author:
  • Post category:News
  • Post comments:0 Comments

20 May 2019 

Realizing the catalytic role of children and their proper nurturing for the National Development, National Parliamentary Task Force on SDGs has constituted a Special Committee on Child Rights-CRC. The following are Terms of Reference of the Special Committee on Child Rights, notified by the National Assembly of Pakistan on 30th May, 2019.
i. To ensure evidence based legislative reforms and effective parliamentary oversight of child rights across Pakistan.
ii. To take stock of the overall status of implementation of child rights related laws enacted by the Parliament through presentations by relevant organisations and individual experts of various fields.
iii. To review the progress of Pakistan with respect to the implementation of rights provided in the UN Convention on Rights of the Child ratified by Pakistan and make recommendations for improvement.
iv. To identify gaps and make recommendations for necessary legislation, where needed, and/ or advice administrative measures to facilitate the complete implementation of child rights enshrined in CRC.
v. To serve a platform for coordination of efforts by various stakeholders for achievement of targets of SDGs related to welfare and development of children.
vi. To inform and sensitize parliamentarians and policy makers about child rights, Convention on Child Rights, SDGs related to the welfare and development of children and responsibilities of duty bearers.
vii. To develop a draft work plan for possible activities to be organized by the parliament, its committees and Parliamentary Task Force on SDGs, to commemorate 30th Anniversary of CRC, and present to the speaker for approval.
viii. To advocate increased financial allocations in the budget for child rights.


i. Ms. Mehnaz Akber Aziz, MNA – Chairperson
ii. Nawabzada Shahzain Bugti, MNA
iii. Ms. Rubina Irfan, MNA
iv. Ms. Javaria Zafar Aheer, MNA
v. Ms. Shandana Gulzar Khan MNA
vi. Dr. Nausheen Hamid, MNA
vii. Mr. Junaid Akbar, MNA
viii. Dr. Nafisa Shah, MNA
ix. Dr. Shazia Sobia, MNA
x. Mr. Mustafa Mehmood, MNA
xi. Mr. Ali Zahid, MNA
xii. Dr. Imran khattak,MNA
xiii. Ms. Aliya Kamran, MNA
xiv. Mr. Amir Haider Azam Khan, MNA

Leave a Reply